Ode to Aurora: My Daughter

 

My beautiful “silly monkey,” my “little bossing”… my future dreams incarnate.
You make me laugh, you make me smile, you brighten my life.
Funny noises, funny faces, your funny ways of doing things.
Coos, cuddles, caresses, calm moments alone, a dream come true.
Pinch, poke, pull… grab, grasp, grunt… you are full of determination and spunk!
“Let go of my nose!” “Let go of my ear!” “Let go of my beard!”
Never let go of my heart!
Your smile is contagious, I will never recover from it.
You’ve changed my life forever.
“Don’t eat your toe!” “Don’t fall off the bed!” “Don’t bite your brother!”
“Please stop slapping your mother!”
“You little “wiggle-worm,” you stink!” “Has anyone changed your diaper?”
You have more moves and energy than a midget wrestler!
I love you, and I am beginning to see clearly now,
your love for me, coming out of your own personality.
The beauty and innocence of your love, is heaven on earth.
One of the few times in my life I’m happy with the cards I’ve been dealt.
It hurts to see you cry, in pain, or scared…
It makes my heart soar to see you smile, laugh, and giggle.
May your whole life be filled with the kind of happiness I see in you now as a baby.
Your presence in my own life has transformed my world.
You make me silly, a singer of lullabies, and a lover of life again.
Thank you for the gift you’ve given to me, by just being you.
I will always be thankful for having the chance to have you in my life.
My dear sweet daughter, “mahal kita” Aurora. English translation: “I love you.”
You are the earth, the moon, and all the stars in my universe.

Leave a Reply

