R.I.P. Beacon of Light: Having No Choice Is Not Democracy

Image

Rest in peace oh beacon of light, Thomas Edison is surely rolling over in his grave, along with all of our country’s Founding Fathers who believed we needed limited government to avoid the tyranny we had escaped when we replaced Monarchy with Representative Government. Environmental conservation has it’s place, but having it forced down your throat by your government is a slippery-slope. I don’t know about you, but I can probably count on one hand the number of “Representatives” or “Senators” in Congress I feel come even close to representing my perspective or interests these days. We no longer have representative government if choice is not an option.

“This has to be one of the most brilliant things our illustrious government has done. Banning something that has worked for over 100 years and requiring replacement with something that cost 5 to 10 times as much. Meanwhile all of the replacement items are manufactured in China and other 3rd world countries thus costing more people in this country their jobs. Some of the new bulbs are dangerous in that they can overheat and cause fires and if you break one, you have hazardous waste in your house. And all of this was done to solve a problem that mother nature is in the process of showing us that has not existed for the last 17 years. I’ve never felt the need for the new bulbs because in our house in the day and at night we use one 100 watt bulb in a lamp between our recliners for reading. I do not like to read by the light put out by the new bulbs. We do not leave other lights on in the house. We have fluorescent lights in the kitchen and bathrooms. Just hope I have stockpiled sufficient incandescent bulbs to last the remainder of my life. Call me a rebel if you will.” – Response from a Conservative Family Member

You Rebel you, I wish I would have stocked up on some myself. I wonder if you can still order them online?

Leave a Reply

